The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to a client provides a strong piece of advice to invest his money into Consolidated Industries which sails oil for heating homes. Reading the letter, one can assume that it contains strong arguments such as colder winters within the following years and using oil as a traditional fuel to heat homes in the northeastern part of USA. Although, investigating in detail a lot of logical flaws can be found which undermine the rationality of this advice.

The statement which is unclear it is why a client should invest his money exactly in this firm. Though the letter provides the information that Consolidated Industries’s key business is to sell oil, there is no proof in the success of this firm in this deal. Perhaps, there are other competitors on the market with the high demand from consumers. The others can provide heating oil with the better quality or with lower prices. It means that possible buyers will turn toward them rather than towards Consolidated Industries.

One more factor to look at closely is the weather forecast at Waymarsh University. How reliable is this forecast? Can people trust the fact that that region of US will obtain more severe winters? There is a possibility that the University made a mistake in its predictions. As well, there is no proof that other sources came to the same conclusion. Since the topic of changing the climate in winters is serious, to promulgate such claims as Waymarsh University did, more research is needed. Thus, the winter with low temperatures was a unique event, and it will not happen again.

In the letter one claims that oil has been used as an orthodox fuel in that region, though it is not presented clearly what the situation is now there. Perhaps, people realized that to heat their homes with other types of fuels is cheaper and more effective. It states opaque what people are using now for heating. Moreover, those houses which were built last year, maybe, equipped with more modern heating systems as burning oil. What leads to the conclusion that in the nearest future people will stop buying oil.

Thus, there are not provided with strong arguments which would say that this piece of advice to invest client’s money into Consolidated Industries is relevant.