The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to a client provides a strong recommendation to invest his money into Consolidated Industries which sails oil for heating homes. Reading the letter, one can suspect that it contains powerful arguments such as coming colder winters and using oil as a traditional fuel to heat homes in the northeastern part of USA. Although, investigating in more details a lot of logical flaws can be found which undermine the rationality of this advice.

The statement which is indefinite it is why a client should invest his money exactly into this firm. Though, the letter provides the information that Consolidated Industries’s key business is selling oil, there is no proof in the prosperity of this firm in this trade. Perhaps, there are other competitors on the market with higher demand from consumers. The others might provide heating oil with the better quality or with lower prices. It means that possible buyers will turn towards them rather than Consolidated Industries.

One more factor to look at closely is the weather forecast at Waymarsh University. How trustworthy is this forecast? Can people rely on the prescience that winters will be more severe and colder? We cannot quit likelihood that the University made a mistake in its predictions. As well, there is no proof in that other sources came to the same conclusion. Since the topic changing the winter weather on a long-term base is serious, to promulgate such announces as Waymarsh University did, more accurate research is needed. Thus, we can conclude that last winter with low temperatures was an exception, and this will not occur again.

In the letter one claims that oil has been used as a ground fuel in that region, though it is not presented clearly about conventional state of things. Perhaps, people have realized that to heat their homes with other types of fuel might be low-cost and more effective. Moreover, the mentioned houses which were built last year, maybe, have already been equipped with more modern heating systems than ones based on using oil. What leads to the conclusion that in the nearest future people will stop to purchase oil.

To sum up, there are not provided powerful arguments which would say that the recommendation to invest client’s money into Consolidated Industries is wise.