Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being involved in communication with other people, we inadvertently can copy some features or behavior styles of people around. These can be our parents, co-workers, teachers at school or our friends. There is opinion that teachers have a greater impact on us than even our best friends. Otherwise, I do not agree with this point of view.

The first reason why I disagree is connected with the time. I think that most of students do not spend more time with their teachers than they do with their friends, that’s why the last ones influence more, because they see each other more often. For example, even my coordinator at the university does not influence me like my best friend does. This is because of the reason we do not spend the great amount of time, and even we have some time to meet, we discuss only important topics.

The second reason is about the strong connection between friends. I believe that after our parents and relatives, our friends are the next who know a lot of things about us. They may be aware of some our troubles, worries, and fears. Though this is a negative example, but sometimes friends may use this type of information to manipulate us and, thus, influence. For instance, recently a friend of mine has had this negative experience. She changed a lot, she was being rude, but at the same time shy and closed for other people. I could hardly recognize her, because she had been an easygoing person. After I found out that her best friend used her secret to rule her life.

Moreover, I believe that our friends may have stronger impact on us, because they may be role models for us. We can start pretending to be such kinds of a person to be interesting to friends. This type of behavior is widespread among school boys, students, and the young, because people of that age always want to have the coolest and most popular friends. That’s why very often we can take friends as a model to follow.

Thus, I believe that we are influenced by our friends much more that our teachers. There is variety of reasons supporting my point of view: our friends know us better than the stuff at university or at school, also, we spend more time with them, and that’s why may take them as a perfect example to copy.