Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends play an important role in our lives since we spend lots of our time playing with them or talking to them. If it is asked, whether or not, students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends, due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general agreement on this issue. I am, however to a great extent of conviction that friends affect students more than their teachers for two main reasons which I will aptly substantiate in the following paragraphs.

The major reason is that as students choose their friends themselves they are very close to their friends. On the other hand, choosing teachers is not like this. In some cases, teenagers are not allowed to select their schools even. As I mentioned, when they are with their friends they feel more comfortable and this will lead them to be affected more by their friends. Whatever their friends tell them, they will accept. For example, when I was ten years old, one night I decided to go shopping with one of my close friends. That night, he suggested I run a new company. I wondered and told him: " We are ten years old, are you serious?". because he was able to persuade me easily, he could convince me to start doing that. We have now one of the best chocolate companies in the country just because of his influence on me. As you can see, we wouldn't have had this giant company, if he couldn't influence me in the way he did.

Another reason is that people spend time with their friends more. This will lead them to talk more with their friends and maybe become affected. It is rational that when you spend most of your time with a person he or she will influence you to do some tasks or to think in a specific way. My own experience is compelling evidence of this situation. When I was a child, I had a friend named Hassan, he was my classmate and neighbor. Most of the time, we were together. We had to go to school with each other and there were many other things that we supposed to do with each other. We were not that close but we were good friends. As we spent most of our time with each other, it was possible to be affected by each other. We couldn't have influenced each other if we didn't spend that much time.

To put the issue into perspective, in spite of the fact that some may think students are more influenced by their teacher than their friends, I believe friends can affect students more. Not only are teenagers closer to their friends, but also they spend time with their friends more.