TPO-12 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The academic knowledge is very crucial for humankind since all of us have seen many people who afford their life's expenses with the knowledge they have. If it is asked that it is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject, although many prefer to have broad knowledge, in my point of view, being professional in one subject is more useful for two important reasons.

The main reason is that the person who is an expert in one field can earn much more money than others. This means that because there are few people who are skilled in specific fields the person who has this ability can earn a lot of money since there is nobody else to solve the problem which he or she can solve. For example, I was going to my office yesterday and suddenly I understood that my car has broken down. So, I was forced to call a repairman but nobody knows how to fix my car and all of the repairmen pointed a man named Jeffry. Finally, I could find him and asked him to fix my car, at that time I recognized that my car's problem was not that essential. When I wanted to pay him he asked a huge amount of money but I had no other choice because he was the only one. As you can see, that man couldn't have earned that much money, if he wasn't an expert in his field.

The other reason is that people can be more self-confident when they become an expert in their field. In other words, professionals always attract the admirations of the people and people respect them since there is no defect in what they perform. For instance, in the memory that I told you the repairman had a high level of self-confidence. When I wanted to pay him I respected and admired him because he was really sophisticated and skilled in his profession. As it is obvious, the repairman wouldn't have received those admirations, if he couldn't fix my car skillfully.

In sum, in spite of the fact that some may prefer to have broad knowledge, I think it is better to be skillful in one specific subject. Not only it will help you to earn more money, but also it can improve the sense of self-confidence in your spirit.