TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Acquiring knowledge is essential in Human being, thus, it serves as guidance and wisdom in every decision we have to make. Knowledge brings people closer with each other, in a sense, if you are aware of things that surrounds you, people can easily mingle with you. In my own opinion, It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects that to specialize in one specialize field. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, Individuals with broad knowledge in many subjects can easily adapt to variety of topics. For example a grade 6 student which can excel in every subjects at school, he will not have any difficulty absorbing information and details with regards to his class than a student who specialize only on one subject. My own experience is a compelling example on this. My classmate in senior high school, he is our class valedictorian, when we have hard time grasping the information in class we will ask him to tutor us, and he gladly teaches us on our weakness. This specific person excel well on his work because he did well at school, he is now the Vice President in one of prestigious company in the US.

Secondly, being well diverse in all general knowledge can result in being conversant with other people and without having any inhibitions to speak his mind. Being said, individuals will be interested to know you better, because you have great ideas and intelligent. For instance, In a party people will be much interested in a person who has great knowledge and experience in all walks of life rather than an individual who doesn't speak his mind and no sense of humor. It is amazing to speak with a person who can answer every questions you had in mind and can share to you his experiences in life.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is advantageous to have a broad knowledge in many subjects rather than to focus on specific subject. This is because having a broad knowledge can offer greater future ahead and you will be more develop social skills.