Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern era, people were inclined to have busy lifestyles and routines. Parents spends less attention to their children due to hectic schedule in their work. It is a very controversial question whether the best time children should spend their time is to play games or sports rather than doing schoolwork. In my humble opinion, I think that it is beneficial that youngsters get involved in sports activities. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, children spends majority of their time at school and it is better that they have other extra curricular activities to be more rounded individual. Moreover, getting involved in sports have positive outcome for a child. They will have active lifestyle which will help them be physically and mentally fit. My personal experience is a compelling example of this, after my class in school my mother drop me off with my volleyball training in our hometown. I spend additional two hours stretching and running the court to warm up before playing the game. I loved participating in sports because I feel more energized and relaxed after playing. In addition, I become more physically fit I noticed I lose 2 pounds just after playing volleyball for 1 month and my coach teaches us how to eat healthier food. I also teach my family to eat healthy foods and we are now eating a healthier and nutritious meal at home. This illustrates that being involved in sports have positive effects on the well being of a person.

Secondly, another positive outcome of playing sports is you will gain more friends. Sports teaches people to mingle and communicate with other person. As a result, you will get to know that person and become friends eventually. For instance, in my volleyball team I used to practice a lot with Princess and we really got to know each other very well. After our practice, we hang out in my house and bond with each other. We continued this bond with each other and became best friends. I think without being involved in sports I will still be shy and hesitant to talk to other people. Hence, sports taught me to become friendly and at ease with other person.

To summarize, I believe that it is beneficial that children should spend their time in playing sports. This is because they are physically fit and gain new friends.