TPO 31- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern world, technological advancement are continuously evolving over the years. Gadgets and innovation are readily available for people to use, so they become less contented in the material possessions they have. In my humble opinion, I think people are less satisfied with their lives than the folks in the past. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, technology created many changes in our lives today such as invention of the internet and social media application. Majority of people uses the net to access everything they needed in their life such as to be updated in the local news and researching for school projects. Also, having social media today bridges the gap in communication for people who are distant with other. However, this advancement in communication has also detrimental effects on human being like teenagers and middle age individuals do not have physical interaction with other person. They feel that it is sufficient because in social media they have many cyber friends, but in the real world they don't spend time with their friends or co workers to get together and bond. As a result they become unattached and withdrawn to their friends and family. Also, they suffer from depression and dissatisfaction with their personal lives due to they have no friends or person to talk to when they have problem.

Secondly, people are greedy with the material possessions and wants to know more and are not contented with what they have. For example, my cousin is a car enthusiast and loves to purchase expensive cars. It is his passion to collect and trade in sports cars with friends but he doesn't know where to stop. It become his addiction to buy and buy car even if he already has the same automobile. I asked him why he always buys car even if he already has it, he just told me that he has impulsion that he can't control because he want to show people around him that he has the money to purchase it. This illustrates that people are less contented with their life because there are always better things or inventions that will be invented by our technology.

To summarize, I believe that in this era people are less contented and unhappy with their lifestyle. This is because social media application make people become isolated with their peers and family. Also, they are unsatisfied with the things they have in life because gadget or technology continuously being upgraded and they want to keep up with this change.