Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students do not respect teachers as much as they did in the past.

Teachers have always received an enormous amount of respect from different people because of the profound influences that they have on everyone's future. However, this traditional notion has faced some changes during the contemporary century. Some people think that teachers are treated less respectfully by students in the modern era, while others disagree. In my own perspective, I do believe that teachers are not respected in comparison with past times because of two main reasons elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First of all, with the advent of new technology, most of the people's general knowledge has increased and students chiefly learn from their parents. In fact, teachers have lost their academic positions in individual's mind because of the educated people. Therefore, myriad families do not sense the necessity of teachers. My younger brother's life is an interesting example of this idea. He is at the age of 14 and is a diligent industrious student. He himself searches through websites and therefore has a strong academic background even at this age. Consequently, as he always says, he does not need the help of his teachers and thinks that self-study is a more effective way of education. In this regard, he does not respect to the teachers because, as he said, they are ordinary people with low knowledge. Even though I do not agree with him, form his point of view teachers does not deserve that much respect.

Secondly, rather than increasing their general and specific knowledge teachers try to make more money from their students. In other words, most of the teacher faces numerous difficulties in their personal life, as a result, it is more meaningful for them to boost their budget rather than their knowledge. Having this modern and precarious notion in mind, some teachers do not teach what they are expected to do in classes in order to offer some private class to students. My friend's career in a compelling reason for this concept. He is a chemistry teacher and is married recently. As he continuously complained, he does not a good economic background and suffers numerous financial problems. Therefore, his body is at classes while his mind is full of different ways of making money. On the other hand, most of his students do not respect him because he is just offering them some tutor sessions and require more money, even for extra points. In this way, he has broken the existed respect between students and teachers.

In sum, above form aforementioned explanation, it is obviously discussed that teachers receive less respect from students that is because of some financial problems and the extended awareness of families. I personally suggest to conduct more analytical and experimental studies in this field in order to have a comprehensive understanding.