Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the opinion that taking risks is fundamentally important for innovation and success. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will discuss in the following essay.

first of all, exploring the unknown helps us learn the right path. Not every try could be a breakthrough. However, we could benefit a lot from our failures. The survival bias is a perfect example on what I mean. Companies were trying to solve the dilemma why fighter jets that survived world war II had many hits to the wings, but the rest of the body was intact. This was extremely significant since they wanted to make the aircrafts more resilient. At first glance, one might think that wings needed more shields to protect them. Nevertheless, this is not exactly the case since you are investigating the planes that made it to safety. Other planes that got hits to the main frame was more vulnerable, was shot down and never reached their final destination and it was actually the body that required more support. Thus, manufacturers caught up the lesson and finally changed the design. This is a simple story about how we could learn from our failures.

Secondly, every major success demands a sacrifice, whether it was a job or education. Most entrepreneurs in this century either left their job or dropped out of an Ivy league university. For instance, the founder of Amazon chose to abandon his wall street job and establish his own online business. What's more, Microsoft former CEO was a Harvard dropout. This does not mean that everyone should give up their career and follow their passion. Instead, we have to be fully aware of the risks of our decisions since statistics show that the rate of success of startups is very small and individuals may end up in debt after devoting time and money to their ideas.

To sum up, I am convinced that humans are on top of the animal kingdom due to their risk-taking behavior to domesticate animals, tame fire and discover new lands. Had we stayed in our comfort zone, we would have still been hunters and gatherers.