Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I fell that the teachers ability to relate with the student is very much important. I agree to this statement because of the below reasons.

When a teacher is able to relate with their student he/she is able to develop a contact with them. This in turn helps the student to concentrate more on the teaching rather than feeling sleepy or bored. When a teacher is not able to relate with the students, the students tends to feel sleepy and get engaged in other activities during the class session. The students are charged up and tend to be more attentive when the teacher is able to easily connect with the students. I would like to give an example of myself where one of my teacher was so good in the art of relating themselves to the students that we would look forward to his class. His method of teaching was perfect and even if he was not sound in that subject but because of his relation with the students, we all wouldn't feel bored or dull during his class.

Secondly, it helps the student to easily grasp the content as he's constantly paying attention and he's able to connect with the teacher. Students are able to understand the examples provided by the teacher and in turn the student would not end with just mugging up the theory instead he would be more keen and interested towards exploring the topic and invading into it. Stating an example of one of my teacher where he would give simple examples which we would easily relate and we were able to remember it till the last. It would reduce our work of constantly revising the topic and we would end up only studying and revising the topics during our exams. This results in better understanding of the topic as well.

So the teachers ability to relate with the student is important as it helps the student to understand the topic as well as it creates a good learning atmosphere in the class where no one feels sleepy or bored.