Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The increase in automation will lead to people losing their jobs.

There has been a tremendous increase in automation during recent times and this has helped the humans a lot in various ways. I disagree with the statement that increase in automation would lead to people lose their jobs because of the below reasons.

Automation has boosted all the industries. Due to automation instead of people losing their jobs, there has been an increase in the job opportunity. As experienced people are required to automate and service or take care of the products. I would like to state an example of Mahindra and Mahindra company. When they decided to automate their car manufacturing unit, they required machines, servers as well as people to take of these products. Due to this there were new job openings in the market which led to job opportunity.

Secondly, automation is useful because machines can work day and night without any rest. Due to this companies started working 24 hours which required them to hire more and more employees. Earlier there would only be a single shift of 8 hours but now due to automation as the companies started working 24 hours, in shifts of 8 hours each there is man power required which has created an opportunity for jobs. One of uncle used to work in a biscuit company and somedays he had to extend his work due to heavy orders. But due to automation he's able to complete his work earlier and also in time. If due to any reasons he's not able to complete the task then he can log off for the day as there would be another person resuming the work once he log offs.

So, in short automation has helped people in different ways and it has created more job opportunities instead of people losing their jobs.