Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

I agree with the statement that it is more important for the teacher to relate with her students than have excellent knowledge of the subject. I think this for the following three reasons.

First of all, if the teacher couldn’t understand the students’ doubts then how will she be able to help them understand the subject of which she has excellent knowledge. I would like to given an example from my own personal experience. My pharmacology professor has done a lot of research on respiratory diseases and has abundant knowledge on the subject. Despite her proficiency in the field, she couldn’t explain the pathophysiology of respiratory diseases well. She couldn’t understand my doubts on the topic and eventually, I had to give up. You see, her excessive knowledge of the subject matter couldn’t help me clear my doubts as she couldn’t relate to my queries.

Furthermore, I think that if a teacher relates well with her students then it will help them to grasp the subject knowledge better. This is because when a teacher relates with her student, she would better understand what problems and queries the student is facing towards a particular topic. This way she can know how to help them to get the concepts clear. For example, if a student mixes up between two seemingly closely related yet completely different theories, a teacher who could relate to the student’s confusion will make sure that she outlines the similarities and differences between the two theories in the class. On the other hand, if a teacher with abundant knowledge of the theories, but couldn’t relate to the student’s confusion, will not be able to help clear the student’s confusion no matter how hard she tries.

Lastly, if a teacher could relate with the students better, then it might make them more comfortable with the teacher. In fact, they will not hesitate to ask her doubts or queries because the teacher gets them so well. Also, it will promote the students to participate actively in the class lectures because they could understand the topic better.

To sum up, it is more important for the teachers to relate and understand the students’ confusion and problems on a subject rather than the in-depth knowledge on the subject being taught.