Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Knowledge is the greatest treasure one can own. It cannot be stolen by thieves, it cannot be destroyed by floods. However, knowledge can be corrupted and the only one that can do that is the teacher who gives you the knowledge. In my view, the primary way to corrupt this is by the personal social, and political views of the teacher. Therefore, I firmly believe that teacher should not state their social, political view in the classroom. In subsequent paragraphs, this will be explained in detail.

First of all, the teacher should present facts objectively. If their subjective views related to politics or society get exposed during a session it might present a biased view on the subject being discussed. As responsible teachers, it is their obligation to show both sides of the coin and let the students decide what is best for them. For instance, when I was at the university our political science teacher was an active member of a political party, and most of his teaching was influenced by his views. However, in the middle of the semester professor retired from university to participate more actively in politics, and our semester-end exams were marked by a different professor who had the opposite political view. As a result, most of the students got very low marks on the exam, the lowest marks were related to the areas taught by the previous professor.

Another point is that if a teacher's view is not parallel with the view of some students. And this might result in developing unpleasant feelings towards both the teacher and the subject. For example, at high school, most of my friends choose music as an elective subject and most of them had inherent talents in music. However, our music teacher most of the time lectures about her view on some problems in society, her objective was not to influence us but to make the class more interesting by allowing little digress from monotonous subject matters. Unfortunately, some talented students, who had contrasting opinions changed the subject after growing unpleasant feelings towards the teacher. Some of the students were members of the school music group.

Some may argue that it might be good to be open and honest with the students. In my opinion, the best way to be honest with the students is to avoid presenting personal views on controversial matters, especially if they are related to social and political views. If you are able to present all the sides of an issue and let the student decide what is good for them that is the best way to be open with the students.

To sum, without a shadow of a doubt, it is my firm belief that presenting a personal social and political view in the classroom can ruin the learning experience. Most often presenting facts objectively can attract good hearts and the attentions of students and parents.