Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

Homo Sapiens prefer to work in groups. To the success of the human civilization groups working skills have a significant contribution. However, some hold contrasting view about working in groups, specially at high school, and universities projects. Although several considerations and concerns are exist, I firmly believe that the advantage of group working outweigh the disadvantages. In what follows, I will elaborate on my reasons and explain on what rationale my perspective is based on.

First of all, in a group project same problem is analyzed by several people. This give many creative ideas and different ways the same goal can be achieved. Furthermore, through discussions we can reduce the chances of making an incorrect decision. Final result is, more complete and creative project. For instance, when I was at the university we need to create a software system for a rest house. The professor gave the flexibility to either work in group of two or work individually and students who work individually were given additional time to complete the project. Final results showed that students who worked in groups got higher marks and from the feedbacks we got to know that those systems were more creative and had addressed many practical issues.

Secondly, working in groups improve team working skills. These skills are highly demanded in the practical world. Working in a team require patience and respect to others' opinions. To develop these skills, group projects at universities and high schools plays a vital role, because it is much easier to train young mind than a matured one. In the real world, specially in government and political field we see a myriad of conflicts among politicians. These occurs as a result of lack of experience in working as a group. If we can teach these skills to budding youths at educational institutes we would be able to avoid many conflicts that we experience today.

However, others analyze this issue from a different view and argue that it is unfair to give same grade to every student. Their complain is that this method gives higher grades to lazy students, even though they do not have a significant contribution. In my opinion that happens only if you follow a wrong path in group works. The sole purpose of a group project is to work as a united team. The team leader should encourage all the students to actively participate in the project and should guide them if they struggles to catch up. This way we will able to justify the score we get as a team. Receiving non uniform scores might discourage students and it might hinder their education.

To sum up, I firmly believe that it is important to student to work as a group and every member should receive same grade. It is the responsibility of the whole group to encourage every one to actively participate in the project. And to encourage and promote group work it is vital and fair to give every member same grade.