To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In any country or society or even a civilization is built around few major cities. Earlier civilizations in Egypt, India, China provides examples. However, the question arises is do these cities represent most important characteristics of a particular country? Indisputably, rural villages also account for important characteristics of a society. Nevertheless, in my opinion , by studying major cities one can understand most important characteristics and even they can deduce characteristics related to non-urban societies. My opinion can be further elaborate with help of three facts.

First of all, major cities represent more general sample of whole countries population. Most cities have multi-cultural societies. If ones needs to study multitude of cultures which can be found throughout the country, rather than go to each part of the country, it is much easier to visit a major city. For instance, in Sri Lankan Capital Colombo, All four major four races living in harmony and throughout the year they organize their specific religious festival. And also one can found religious places like temples, churches, mosques in the center of the city. For a foreigner who visit the country can get better understanding about cultural diversity, religious function in the society by studying the city society. This cultural diversity is specially due to the facilities provided by the city, which attract various people regardless of race religion to the major cities. Therefore one can get far better understanding on various cultures of the society by studying major cities.

Secondly, major cities facilitates to most important education institutes such as Universities, Colleges, and Religious education centers. Not only that, libraries, education authorities also located in these major cities. One might argue that these does not represent education level in rural villages. However, one can get most important statistics and other information related to education level of society from libraries, educational authorities located at major cities. Furthermore, Universities and colleges in the cities are home to students from cities as well as from rural areas. By doing a survey in a university or college a researcher can get a better overall idea on the education system in the country. In contrast, if the research was done on a village , then he might miss the big picture and probably get an inferior image on the education level in the society. This proves that major cities gives better understanding on the education of the society.

Last but not least, major cities are the power housed of the country. Large portion of economic activities are happening in major cities or around it. For example almost all the service industry and largest companies in the country are located in cities. Not only that infrastructure facilities like highways, harbors, air ports also located in major cities, which is another reason to attract more economic activities to cities. Furthermore, on average citizens in major cities have better understand on economic activities than an average villager. Due to these reasons, it is clear that a city represent large portion of important characteristics of the economy of the country. Some may argue that, most agricultural activities are located away from cities. But farmers usually come to city to sell their products , because majority of the demand for agricultural products is at cities. Therefore, in cities it is not uncommon to find agricultural centers, markets and other institution related to agriculture, which provides information on agricultural aspect of the economy. But in villages, we cannot expect find ( or very rare) non-agricultural economic activities. In other word major cities can provide more important information related the economy of the country.

In conclusion, major cities helps to understand the most important characteristics of a society, because; major cities are better representation of various cultures in the society, major cities facilitates to larger portion of educational institutes and major cities are the power house , which runs the economy of the country. For these reasons, one must study major cities if he/she want to extract important characteristics and the big picture of a society.