Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that teachers play a crucial role in our lives. This is because they facilitate our learning and improve our knowledge. In my opinion, teachers should not reveal their political views to their students. I feel this way for the following reasons, which will be explored in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, teachers can mislead the students into voting or advertising for candidates that are not their choice. Evidently, teachers have a great influence on their students. Some might see it as opportunity to get something from the teacher, maybe an extra mark or some other forms of awards. For example, during my secondary school years, my Physic teacher, Mr. John Kent, was a member of People Democratic party(PDP), a political party in Nigeria. He normally talked about the party in the class, their views and how they are willing to rule Nigeria and reduce the crime rates and unemployment in the country. During the presidential election in 2015, he supported Mr. Musa Abubakar, who was the party candidate for the election. He encourage the students to post Mr. Musa's picture on their social media platform to encourage people to vote for him. The student did as he said, and eventually Mr. Musa Abubakar won the election. After four years of ruling Nigeria, things went from bad to worse. As a result of this people, people don't want to associate with Mr. John Kent, because they believed he deceived them to voting the wrong person. This examples clearly shows why teachers should not expose their political views to the students.

Secondly, in revealing their political/social views to students might encourage people to do something that is illegal. Students see their teachers as role models and therefore, will do whatever their teachers said. Drawing from my own personal experience. Several years ago in Nigeria, a lecturer at University of Aba made a statement, that people that steals or involves in arm robbery should be killed immediately. To him, their punishment is death and there was no need to consult the court. This goes in contrary to what is done in the country. Many people in the class took this message in and started practicing it. Some even told their friends about it. Consequently, many people were killed without the consultation of the legal system. This angered the members of the public because some of those people killed were actually innocent. The government in an attempt to resolve this issue, decided to put punishment on anyone found in such an act. For this reason, teachers should keep their social views to themselves.

In conclusion, I believe teachers should not reveal their political or social views to the students. Not only that it will discourage the students from voting their choice, it could cause them to do things that are prohibited in the country.