Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Opportunity they say, comes but once. While some people will argue that it will be better to wait for a comfortable and suitable job than to take the available ones; however, I think people should take any job that is accessible in order keep themselves busy. I feel this way for two reasons which I will analyze in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, when people have something doing there will be reduction in crime. It is widely known that unemployment is the major source of crimes in our society. Obviously, jobs provide money for people to meet their needs, and when they are satisfied they won't get themselves involve in any societal vices. I had to admit that my opinion on this matter is greatly influenced by my own personal experience. Between the year 2009 and 2015, crime was at its peak in my country, Nigeria. This was as a result of the high rate of unemployment. So many youths have nothing doing to keep themselves from being idle or going hungry. Things became extremely difficult for them because they find it very hard to survive in the country. In order to meet up with their basic needs, they got involved in so many evil acts such as arm robbery, kidnapping, swindling, and other fraudulent activities. However, in 2015 when the new president, Professor John Wick, was elected he was eager to truncate the level of unemployment in the country. He created jobs by building more industries and schools. Hence, unemployment rates reduced drastically because the jobs provided people with the means to meet their needs. Hadn't it not been for the creation of jobs, majority of the unemployed people will still be committing crime.

Secondly, the available job can act as a stepping stone to get the one that is suitable for you. It can provide the skills and training you need to advance your career. Evidently, the more skillful you are the better chance you have to secure a high paying and comfortable jobs. For instance, when I graduated from college in 2015, I wanted to work as an Electrical Engineer in one of the best electric/electronic in the country. After 3 years of searching, I couldn't get a job. One day I was coming back from the market, where I went to get some beverages for my father, I saw an advert of a company looking for graduates to admit for their management trainee position. So, I decided to apply since I have nothing doing. Luckily I got into the company. During the training we will taught how to manage projects, and work as a team for effective production. Additionally, we were taught some management software which was a big plus for me. At the end of my training, I was given a certificate in management because of my performance. Two months after the completion of this program, I applied to Nexus, one of the best electronic company in Nigeria for the position of a full time electrical engineer. As a result of the management I took part in, I was given the job. This example clearly shows how I was able to secure a suitable job because of the skills I gained from my first job.

In conclusion. I feel it is better for people to take jobs that are available for them rather than waiting for jobs that might not come. This is because it will keep them away from crimes, and can act as a foundation to secure a better one.