Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Talking about social or political issues is an ordinary activity in many societies. However, some people believe that it should be banned for teachers to reveal their viewpoints about these types of topics in the classrooms. Others cast doubt on that and claim that it is not a big deal for students to get their teachers’ perspectives. I completely agree with the first group and support my idea in the following.

To begin with, getting information from what teachers’ beliefs is may face students in a dilemma. It is because individuals are growing up in different conditions, and consequently, their viewpoints vary from each other. In this situation, maybe students get stuck in the contrast between what their parents show them about a particular fact on society and what their teacher says. Since often both of these individuals are categorized as loyalty and trustful people in children’s minds, it faces them with a crucial dilemma that which viewpoint is correct. Therefore, if teachers interfere and illustrate their perspectives about social or political views, they not only put students in a contradiction, but also put parents into troubles.

Moreover, talking about social or political aspects is different from the purpose of teaching. These types of extra information are not vital for students and may distract their attention in the classrooms. In an ordinary situation, students’ minds are wandering easily. These data not only cause students to get distracted more easily, but also do not have any benefit for them to better learn the lesson. One of my memories can shed some light on this subject. When I was an eight-year-old girl, my teacher talked about the negative impacts of not wearing a hijab in my future life. As she wanted to continue her subject, I could not focus on the course, for the only subject I was thinking about was her advice about wearing a hijab.

In conclusion, there are several remarkable reasons to be persuasive enough that teachers should not reveal their social or political perspectives for students because it not only may be different from what their parents tell them, but also is not the purpose of teaching.