Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that the vocational prestige of teacher drops in modern society, owing to the teachers are not able to be highly respected by students and parents. However, in my opinion, I totally disapprove of this statement, and I will explain my point of view in the following essay.

To begin with, teachers seemed to be highly respected, owing to the strict and restrained impression, whereas it did not mean that teacher actually obtained the respects from students, but the fears. Students obeyed the order of traditional teacher because of the power, so they did not truly respect the teacher in their minds. For example, my mom always complains about her middle school teacher who used to hit student to express the power and authority. She reminds that all the students were listened to her with fear and hate.

Furthermore, I believe that as long as you are responsible to your jobs, you will be valued and adored by society no matter what generations is. Teacher aims to educate the child, which means you will get respect if you teach your students well and have significant effect to them. My elementary school teacher will be a perfect example. I remember she was patient to every student and respect everyone's personality and interests. She not only was adored by all the students and parents, but also won the prize from the government for fabulous teaching.

Finally, from social aspect, since the population of children decline, I think the teacher is more and more critical nowadays. For the reason that most of parents have only one or two kids, they will pay more attention on education. Under this circumstance, the role of teach become higher than the past. For instance, the job opportunities for teachers are more difficult to get and the requirement also become stricter with high standard. As a result, I believe that teachers are more valued currently.

In a nutshell, I disagree with the statement of saying teachers were more respected in the past. In the past, teacher seems to obtain more authority, but actually few students appreciated them. In contrast, teachers nowadays can also be adorable and respectful. So, that is why I disagree with the statement.