Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Telephone has greater influence on people’s lives than television has.

What is the most effective communication invention throughout history? Through different times, there have been numerous devices to help people communicate. Two of the most important of these devices are telephone and television. Many people think that television has had a greater influence on people’s lives rather than telephone while others may have another idea. In my opinion, television has had a greater effect on people’s lives. This is because it helps to spread culture, it is one of the best entertainment tools, and it has a huge commercial use.

First, television has helped to spread culture across society. Before the invention of television, people were not able to see different cultures because they did not leave their homes much. The only way to get news about other parts of the world and their cultures was through newspapers or telegraph. Television introduced people with vision so that they could “see” what people in other parts of the world would do under different circumstances. In other words, they became familiar with various cultures all around the world and thus, they could accept it more willingly. For example, in the US, people in central parts could not go to big cities such as Washington and so, they were not familiar with the way people dressed or behaved in these places. However, after the invention of television, they could observe other cultures and accept them after becoming familiar with them. This helped spread various cultures across the US.

Second, television is a great means to entertain people. It has movies, cartoons, and documentaries that could be appropriate for almost all ages. Prior to the invention of television, people did not have much to do after they got home from work or school. Yet again, television introduced media that could gather the members of a family together to watch a specific program. In other words, by the function of entertainment, television helped families spend more time with each other. For instance, little kids could watch cartoons on television so that their parents could do their work at home with more freedom. Also, teenagers could watch series and movies and enjoy their free time. Besides, their parents could watch the news and get the latest information about their society.

Finally, since television is able to alter the behaviors of individuals, not only could it suggest a means to entertain people but also it could cast an immense influence on the commercial function side of the phenomena.

television has immense commercial use because it can change people’s habits through advertisements. Great companies and industries are aware of the crucial role of television on the viewers. So, they make good use of this and advertise their product on the television so frequently that the viewer, even not knowingly, is absorbed to the product and this, is more probable to buy it. Also, television could develop certain habits among individuals in society or prevent them from doing harmful activities. For example, women in the 1950’s were not willing to buy washing machines because they thought that the dishes would not be clean. However, by advertising a pretty young woman on the television who is washing her dishes in a washing machine clean and smooth, people were attracted to the product and bought it.

In the end, I think television has a major influence on people’s daily lives compared to the telephone. This is due to several reasons including but not limited to easier culture diversification, bring about the most contemporary means of fun, and having financial benefits due to advertisements. Nobody could deny the importance of the telephone in society. However, from a daily life point of view, television has had a much larger effect on individuals’ lives. This effect continues to be but in different forms since the advent of the Internet with social media such as Netflix, Amazon, and DisneyPlus. You could hardly find anybody who would not use televisions in some way these days since our lives are intertwined with this invention.