Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Despite television advertising directed towards young children may not be able to create much effect and could bring negative effects to young children, there are still some benefits that young children can gain from watching television advertising. Hence, I do not agree that television advertising towards young children should not be allowed, for the following reasons.

It is understandable that some people may concern that advertising directed towards young children could bring children several negative effects, such as letting children form wrong beliefs, losing attention on reading books, and so on. Since young children aged two to five are still in the stage of forming the concept of the world, and watching television too early may influence their growing process. For example, if a kid starts watching television when she or he is younger than five, she or he may get used to putting their attention on moving objects rather than on motionless books, which makes them harder to learn knowledge from books.

However, television advertising directed towards young children can be an effective mean for them to learn new knowledge. Along with the development of technologies, more and more educators start employing digital devices as tools for student to learn new knowledge. Because moving objects are easier to catch their attention. Take an advertisement that I saw for example. The advertisement was about English learning videos, which mainly target for young children, so the style of the advertisement was like a cartoon. In my opinion, it is a good way for them to learn new knowledge, even though it is not a lot. Thus, banning television advertising for young children may reduce the diversity of sources for them to learn new stuff.

Instead of banning advertisements directly toward young children, there are many other ways for adults to prevent negative effects brought to young children. We can restrict the time that children spent on watching television to avoid them being addictive to watching television. And the minister of media can review the content of advertisement to prevent children from watching inappropriate advertisement. For example, in Taiwan, there are more and more internet or channel service provider that developed usage restriction service for parents. In that way parents do not need to worry about their children spending too much time on watching television, and young children do not lose an interesting way to learn new knowledge.

In conclusion, compare with not allowing television advertisement to young children, there are many alternative solutions for parents to prevent the negative effects that television brings to children. And children can enjoy the convenience that technologies bring us as well.