TPO8 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I am afraid I have to disagree with the statement that we should disallow television advertisement directed to the youth. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will illuminate in the following essay.

First of all, the advertisement directed toward the baby would not directly exert negative affection on them. To begin with, children in such a life stage(Between two to five) cannot understand exterior information as we expected due to their immature brain and deficiency of social experience. In fact, babies will not concentrate on the advertising content itself even though they seem like they are staring at the television. Therefore, I think those advertisements are harmless to our young kids. Besides, babies cannot make any purchase since they do not have a bank account or cash. As a result, those advertisements are majorly watched and absorbed by their parents who has already built a complicated system to differentiate commercial deceptions from regular needs. Consequently, I sincerely doubt that sort of advertising could cause economic loss to a family.

Secondly, this kind of advertisement is a sign of the uprising of a potential market, which could actually benefit our young citizens. I would like to start with a comparison. There were so many citizens dying in a very young age in the past, as a result of poverty of living materials. They could not obtain necessary nutrients, vitamins or stuff could support them to pass through the vulnerable stage. However, nowadays, with the development of science, we increasingly possess an ability to design a relatively easy way to grow up healthily. The commercial toward young kids is one of the most important signs of this change. Therefore, I consider that, far from banning the advertisement directed to kids, the government should encourage companies to invest more money in this industry.

In conclusion, I strongly believe the government should allow companies to put baby-oriented advertisements into television. This is because the sort of commercial cannot directly cause negative influence; and because the uprising of "baby" industry is absolutely beneficial to our young citizens.