Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Early childhood is a really crucial stage of our life for most of our development, both physically and mentally, takes place in this stage. I believe that television advertisements that are aimed toward young children should not be permitted and I will explain why I think this way in the next paragraphs.

First and foremost, imagination of young children tends to be very strong and it's not too hard to imagine companies taking advantage of this. In fact, they already do, by advertising things in ways that exploit children's imaginations. For example, when I was watching TV last week, I saw an advertisement where a child builds a spaceship using Lego bricks. Suddenly, the spaceship made out of Lego bricks turns into a real one and the child uses it to go to space and meet aliens. These advertisements might seem funny to us since we know that none of these will happen if we buy the product shown in them but most children think otherwise.

Secondly, junk food advertisements are putting young children's health at risk. It is a known fact that obesity has become more common among children. There is a very high possibility that these advertisements might be the cause of this problem since they advertise unhealthy food and beverages to kids. The minds of children are very vulnerable and we should not let advertisements use them to sell their products. Additionally, we should also consider the fact that these advertisements are (ran out of time)