Do you agree or disagree the following statement Television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed

A controversy is often raised about television advertisement influence on our children. Some groups of people hold the view that the television advertisement has some advantages to make children happy. However, others have an opposing view and feel that television advertisement has several disadvantages and is harmful to the children. In my vantage point, I concur with later view and firmly believe that such advertisement would cause children to develop bad habits.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that Television advertisement would cause parents to pay more for merchandise. Some parents may argue that children feel happy to buy a branded toy being advertised. However, parents often complain of paying more for this branded toy when compared to all other toys in the store. Children's ignorance make them easily being deceived by the information presented. A vivid example which illustrate my point is the price I had to pay for a toy to my kid that was advertised on the TV. I had to pay double the price for the same toy compared to all other toys in the store.

The second point which deserves some thought is that advertisements encourages children to eat unhealthy food. Although children feel happy to watch a MacDonald advertisement and go eat in the restaurant, they are unaware of the bad effect of junk food on their health. Junk food is known to cause obesity, and vitamins deficiencies because it is all made of frozen food. Thus, by allowing children to watch these advertisements, we are encouraging them to eat unhealthy.

Although the aforementioned reason are the first to cross my mind at a glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle point. The noteworthy, refreshingly, intelligible study that was published in the pediatric Journal which showed that television advertisements creates a gap between parents and their children. This study was conducted on 120 children from different areas to prevent any bias.

To wrap up, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons. one soon realizes that television advertisements directed towards children does not only encourages bad eating habits, but can also harm the relationship between the parents and their children.