Do you agree or disagree the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

The television commercials have become a non-negligible part of our life along with the television. There also comes discussion whether the ads aimed at the young children should be allowed or not. I don't think they should be allowed for several reasons below.

The first reason is its biased influence on the young children. The television ads are generally fancy and attracting in which the product is presented in an unrealistic way. The young children's cognitive ability is not mature, which means they are not capable of distinguishing the real from the virtual. For instance, there is a chocolate ad showing that if you ate the chocolate, you will be surrounded by silks made of chocolate. This ad intends to show the silky taste of chocolate, but from a child's perspective, he or she will remember that eating chocolate will bring silks around. This is a distortion of the child's cognitive ability.

Besides, the biased view presented by the ads aimed at children often brings quarrels to the family. The parents, as adults, values the usage of the products more, but the young children are just capricious, they are easily attracted. The typical situation is that the children want to buy a toy advocated with fancy views in the television but the parents realize that it is a kind of toys that the children had lost interest in. And the typical result is a quarrel, which is unnecessary. These kind of quarrels bring no benefit to the family with an end that either the parents reluctantly pay or the children angrily and sadly rest.

There are also some benefits of these ads. For example, it promotes the economy especially the industry aimed at children. But with the consideration of the trouble it brings, I agree that the television advertising directed at young children should not be allowed.