Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, the education problem become a hot topic among the society. Some people hold the point that educating children become much easier with development of the modern technology, while others assert that our children are distracted by these high-tech production. From my perspective, I believe that the merits of modern technology overweight the disadvantages and educating children has tendency to become easier in the future. My statement is based with following reasons.

First and foremost, I believe Internet widen our children's point of view and help them be well-prepared before the class. Nowadays, children can acquire massive amounts of information from Internet by using Google or Baidu, and the knowledge they have is greater than past students. Sometimes they have already been familiar with the class topic before opening their textbook. By contrast, when I was a high school student, I was always not able to follow teachers' idea and the only way I can figure out the problem is was visiting teacher in office hour. However, students now have ability to search more relative materials on the Internet by themselves without help from their teachers.

Furthermore, advanced technology makes lectures more efficient and effective. Professor are able to optimize various of methods to arrange their courses. For instance, they show students video, program code on the big screen, give students some online projects which change the

boring study to a more attractive and more interesting way. On the contrary, several years ago, the only form of lecture is reading passage and listening to professor. Take myself as example, I join an online course about machine learning on Coursera and I am surprised with the convenience of online courses. I can watch lecture video at anywhere and anytime, and I am also able to put some questions on discussion boards and other students from all over the world will answer the question immediately. Therefore, Internet open us a new door of the future study and education.

Admittedly, modern technology does exist some problem, such as causing young people spend too much time on cell phone, online games and social network. However, if we can well use these tools, we have chance to make greater efficiency in learning.

All in all, although there are still some difficulties to educate children today like addiction to mobile phone and social network, it's still obvious that modern technology provides us a more efficient way to educate our children.