Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television

has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use

specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Television undoubtedly has had a huge impact on society. Personally, I think that television has caused a decrease in interaction between people. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To start with, these days a lot of people prefer to spend their spare time in front of a TV instead of going out and enjoying the company of their friends. The variety of channels offer us a myriad of documentaries, movies, and entertaining programs to watch. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I have a full-time job and family with two children to take care of. Not only that, but I constantly practice English in order to obtain a pharmaceutical license in the United States and work in my favorite field. In this way, I always tired and when I have some free time I just want to lay down on a couch in front of a TV and relax. Moreover, I have a cable, and so there is always plenty of fascinating films to watch. As a result, I do not socialize with my friends as often as I did before and I feel that our connection has weakened. This example illustrates how television can negatively affect relationships.

Secondly, numerous political programs on television have caused misunderstandings and conflicts among citizens. Many reporters do not search for information for their reportages properly and therefore they provide misleading facts about others which regular people can believe in. For instance, when a few years ago my country faced a presidential election, certain channels praised a particular candidate because he paid them the for their support. They told that the applicant founded a charity organization and had financially helped disabled children. My mother believed in this information and wanted to vote for him. However, I knew that he was corrupted and I tried to explain he the truth. We argued a lot and even did not talk to each other for a while. Finally, police found out that his charity organization was just a way to avoid paying taxes and so he was dismissed. Although sometimes television provides topics that relatives can listen to and discuss, very often the information can divide them.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that modern television has threatened communication between family members and friends. This is because watching TV is sometimes more relaxing that socializing with friends, and because a lot of lie on TV leads to conflicts between relatives.