Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have been arguing a lot regarding whether it is more important to be able to get along with others or to be an excellent student. Personally, I think that being capable of building positive relationships is more beneficial. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, having great relationships with co-workers can guarantee a long employment. These days, most of the businesses based on teamwork and employers prefer to keep those workers, who are loved by team members since pleasant environment at a workplace helps to achieve great outcomes. My mothers` experience in a compelling example of this. My mother is an aging woman and has a lot of health`s issues. Because of that, sometimes, when she feels weak, she calls off. On the other hand, she has very friendly and kind personality and always tries to help those who are around her. For these traits of her character, her crew adores her. Therefore, even if sometimes she has to stay at home or visit a doctor and miss the work, her colleagues do not complain but support her. As a result, she has been working in the same company for almost twenty-five years on a row.

Secondly, if new employees are social and easy to relate with, they can learn quickly about their new jobs and be noticed by their supervisors. Very often, young professionals who were advanced students in college face challenges when they start their professional journey because the reality of work environment can be different from what they read in books. In this way, the best source of knowledge for them is their seasoned colleagues. For instance, when I just started working as a pharmacist, I found out that I did not know much about how to process claims to insurance companies or how to deal with angry customers. Fortunately, I was able to make friends with my pharmacy`s staff quickly and from them, I learned how to resolve the problems. Conversely, if I had not been open to communication with my colleagues and had not asked them a myriad of questions, they would not have taught me important for my job tips.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in order to excel it is more advantageous for people to be able to relate well with others than study hard in school. This is because it can provide them with an employment for many years, and grow professionally.