Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Life has changed dramatically in the past few decades. This change affected priorities of the young generation. Personally, I think that these days youth devote less time to their communities than in the past. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, modern students are incredibly busy gaining an education. Nowadays, in order to succeed in life, people have to have a profession, which can help them to support their families and feel confident. For this reason, young people attend college or university. An educational process is an arduous one, and those who study a lot simply do not have free time to spend it on helping their communities. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a student in a pharmacy school, I was overwhelmed with the amount of different kind of assignments and presentations I had to fulfill. Sometimes, I spend nights preparing for my classes and trying to comprehend difficult topics. In this way, I did not have a chance to participate actively in the life of my hometown even if I wanted to. I knew, if I had stopped studying, my grades could have suffered. On the other hand, as my mother told me when she was young she did not go to a college, and so she had plenty of time to volunteer at a local hospital.

Secondly, the technological development has been providing teenagers with a myriad of entertainments, which oftentimes keep them away from social commitments. A variety of computer games fascinate millennials more than socializing with their peers or helping people who live nearby. For instance, my husband likes to tell stories about the time when he was about eighteen years old and was a member of a group of firefighters in a local fire department. He says that he always had a great time with his teammates and made a lot of friends out there. On the contrary, our son is not interested in such leisure at all. The only thing he wants to do when he is free from school is to play video games and watch TV. This example illustrates how technology has changed adolescents` away to live.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that modern young people are not involved in the life of their communities. This is because they are concentrated on their academic growth and distracted by technological devices.