Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products look better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many aspects of a successful business and one of them is advertising. Personally, I think that in commercials commodities seem better than they are in reality. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, companies invite celebrities to advertise their products. When we see our favorite actresses or singer praising items, we prone to believe that these commodities are really great. This happens because we often consider famous individuals more knowledgeable and successful than ourselves, and so we tend to imitate them. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I have immensely dry skin and always look for new products to decrease my irritation and itching. In this way, a while ago I saw a video on Youtube channel where my favorite actresses recommended a new cream that allegedly has helped a million on women like me. She said that the lotion was the breakthrough in modern cosmetology. With no extra research, I decided to give it a shot and bought a tube in a local store. I was truly disappointed to find out that the cream comprised of the same ingredients than the most of available lotions and was not an outstanding one at all. This example illustrates how commercials with celebrities can trick consumers.

Secondly, manufacturers of products hide the truth about their goods oftentimes. While promoting new items companies stress their advantages, but stay silent about their flaws. Although sometimes from commercials people can learn about new products, consumers often overlook their numerous disadvantageous. For instance, a few weeks ago I came down with a cold and had to visit a doctor. On my way to a clinic, I saw a huge bubber advertising a medication to relieve symptoms of the illness. The text about benefits of this medicine was in bold and vivid. However, the information about its possible side effects was in a fine print and on the very bottom so I could barely see this. If I had not read about drawbacks of the medicine and had taken it to relieve my sickness, I could have suffered from side effects.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that advertisements are often deceptive. This is because famous people take part in them, and because producers conceal truth regarding disadvantages of their products.