Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

These days, people spend more time at their workplaces than with their families and friends. For this reason, it is crucial for us to be satisfied with our jobs. Personally, I think that employees enjoy a versatile work routine more than a uniform one. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a diversified job keeps employees focused on their tasks and because of that their work days go by quickly. On the other hand, if work routine is monotonous, people will feel bored and probably will start thinking of another job opportunities. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I am a pharmacy technician and while on duty I have to accomplish a myriad of things such as enter new prescriptions into a computer system, count pills, and interact with customers in person and over the phone. These numerous tasks keep me constantly busy and in fact, when my shift is over I feel like I just started it oftentimes. As a result, I truly enjoy being a pharmacy technician and I am looking forward to continuing working with my employers for many more years. That is why I believe that when companies challenge their workmen with varied assignments, they interest them.

Secondly, versatile employment helps people to establish a career because when individuals have to perform different duties, they can learn about each of them in detail and increase professionally. Hirers prefer to offer positions to seasoned people and if these individuals handle their responsibilities properly, they will be promoted in the future. For instance, my first year as a pharmacy staff member was tremendously challenging. I had to learn how to process prescriptions, deal with angry patients and resolve claims from insurance companies. However, after that time span, I was able to successfully master many aspects of my job and became a valuable member of the team. As a result, my supervisor noticed my professionalism and rewarded it with a new position of a pharmacy manager`s assistant. Although there are many other ways to excel in a workplace, handling a variety of work obligations well is the fastest route to the success.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that people are happy when they are involved in a variety of duties during their work shifts. This is because it makes their routine fascinating, and helps them to excel in life.