Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of technology, the amount of information that people can get has increased. Personally, I think that in order to be informed properly, citizens should listen to a variety of sources of information. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, if people watch only one television program, they are at risk to be deceived. These days, politicians tend to financially support news` programs and they decide what kind of information will be represented on a channel. As a result, sometimes, journalists are biased and report stories that they are paid for. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. A few months ago, my country faced presidential elections and one of the news companies on local television was constantly praising one of the candidates. It became known later that this company was sponsored by this applicant and narrated misleading stories regarding his background. Fortunately, I have read on the Internet many controversial articles about this person and did not vote for him. This situation illustrates the importance of being open to a variety of sources of information.

Furthermore, there are a lot of amateurs around the Internet, who write articles about different kind of events. They have not enough knowledge on the topic and are not able to represent the information deeply and in detail. For instance, a few weeks ago a major snowstorm happened in my town and a myriad of roads was closed for personal vehicles to drive on. Unluckily, I had to be at work this day and so, I decided to check which ways were available for drivers to commute. I read on the Internet that one road was open and moved in this direction. How disappointed I was to find out that the person who wrote the comment on the web had no idea about a real traffic situation in the area. As a result, I got stuck in a traffic jam and was late for work. If I had taken my time and checked with other sources of information, I would not have had such a terrible experience.

In a conclusion, I strongly believe that it is pivotal to obtain information from many resources. This is because it can prevent from being deceived, and will help to avoid troubles.