A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

A construction of a factory could have a negative effect on a community and result in increased traffic jams and noise pollution. However, a new industry might economically benefit a place. If a company is going to build a plant next to my town, I would definitely support the idea. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a new factory could provide a lot of employment for local professionals and unskilled people. A large facility needs a myriad of workers to operate it and so students, who are able to work only part-time shifts might be hired. When pupils have a job, they less dependent on their parents and can afford a lot of staff. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a senior, my hometown was underdeveloped and high school students did not have job opportunities. Although my parents gave me some cash every day, this was not enough to purchase all things that I wanted such as mascara and nail polish. If I had had a job, I would have been financially independent and could have bought whatever cosmetics I needed. That is why I think that a new industry would be advantageous for young people, who live in my community.

Secondly, a construction of a factory could contribute to an overall development of my small town. Since a plant needs a plenty of workers, people from adjacent cities could move there. Therefore, new stores, restaurants, gas stations, and even hospitals might be opened. For instance, back in the day, my uncle told me that when a factory was built in his community, many workers from all around a district relocated there and his town started expanding. As a result, today his community is a huge city with a variety of schools, clinics and fire departments, and all of them have modern equipment and in this way, the quality of life there is better than in neighboring towns. This example illustrates how the building of a factory can help a community to evolve.

To conclude, if a construction of a plant has announced in my hometown, I would endorse it. This is because this would create employment for local students and could facilitate the development of the place.