Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The pace of modern life is fast and sometimes overwhelming. However, these days, people have more opportunities to enjoy it. Personally, I think that people are happier today than it was in the past. There are a few reasons why I hold this stance.

First of all, nowadays, we have more opportunities to travel. Education, which is today available for the majority of the population, provides young citizens with professions, which can benefit them financially for the rest of their lives. If a person has a well-paid job, he or she can afford traveling. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I am a pharmacist and fully satisfied with my salary. Every month I am capable of saving some money for things I like to do the most. I am passioned for exploring new destinations. In this way, every year, during a vacation, I take a trip to places I have never visited before. On the other hand, my parents, who did not have a chance to attend a college when they were young, did not have a job, which could let them save money on voyaging. Moreover, the transportation at their time was not as advanced as it is now. That is why I believe that my being is fascinating in comparison to my parents` life.

Secondly, millennials are connected to each other to a higher degree than their ancestors. With the development of the Internet and social networking websites, people from all around the world can communicate easily and keep in touch with their families and friends who are at long distances. Facebook, Instagram, and Skype are only a few examples of websites and software applications, which help people to socialize. For instance, I have been living in the United States for almost four years. Despite this, I talk to my family members from Russia every other day and continuously participate in their lives. Furthermore, on Christmas and a New Year Eve, we turn on Skype, so we can celebrate together. It warms my heart and makes me feel like I am at home with people, whom I value the most. Conversely, as my mother told me, when she was of my age and moved to a big city, she could not talk to her parents often because of lack technology at that time. This example endorses my point of view.

To conclude, I strongly believe that today people are more satisfied with their lives than it was before. This is because they can explore the world and stay in touch with their beloved ones.