Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The modern life gives people a myriad of opportunities to enjoy their lives. Personally, I think that today, people are more satisfied with their lives than it was in the past. There are a few reasons why I hold this stance.

First of all, nowadays, we can travel and explore the world in the higher degree than our ancestors did. These days, available education gives people opportunities to excel in life. A person, who graduated a college has a better job than those who did not go to an institution, and so, they financially benefited. As a result of that, an educated individual can afford to travel all around the world. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I am a pharmacist and have a well-paid job, which helps me not only to support my family but also to enjoy time off in the way I like to. Travelling is my passion and every year I have a trip to a new place. In this way, I have visited a lot of countries and a lot more to come. On the other hand, my parents, who did not have a chance to attend a university when they were young, did not obtain a profession and did not have enough income to voyage. Moreover, the transportation at their time was not as progressive as it is now. That is why I believe that I live a happier life than my parents did.

Secondly, in contemporary society, people can socialize easily. With the development of the Internet and social networking sites, people can stay in touch with those who are important to them. Facebook, Whatsapp, and Instagram are just a few examples of software, which help people to communicate actively. For instance, I have been living in the United States for three years, and although this country is on the other end of the planet from my home country, every day, I can talk to my friends and family members through the Internet. Therefore, I participate in their lives by being away. Every Christmas and a New Years Eve, I turn on Skype, so my family is with me even I cannot touch them or give them a hug. It makes me feel like I am at home with the people I love. Conversely, as my mother told me when she was about twenty years old and moved to a big city, she could not have conversations with her parents often because the technology was not as advantageous as it is today. This example illustrates my point quite well.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that these days, people live happier lives in comparison to previous generations. This is because we have a lot of opportunities to explore other cultures, and stay in touch with our beloved ones.