Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The pace of the modern life is fast and very often in order to succeed, people have to work quickly. However, I personally think that it is pivotal do not rush and therefore, minimize the number of mistakes we make. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To start with, mistakes can harm people. Professionals, who work in the healthcare are responsible for their patients' wellbeing and because of this, they have to be careful when they make decisions at a workplace. Otherwise, their patients will suffer. My co-worker`s experience is a compelling example of this. I am a pharmacist and one of my responsibilities is to fill a myriad of prescriptions and to be sure that a right patient receives a right medicine. A few weeks ago, before holidays, my pharmacy was very busy and one of my colleagues was working very fast. In this rush, he got confused and released a drug to a wrong person. Fortunately, the customer noted the error and did not take the pills but returned them to the pharmacy with a complaint. If the patient had taken the medicine, his blood pressure would have increased dramatically and he would have felt terrible. That is why I believe it is crucial to slow down and make things right.

Secondly, by working slowly, people can master their skills. Sometimes we challenge ourselves with arduous tasks, which require a lot of time to obtain great outcomes. When a person is concentrated on only one task, he can learn how to do it perfectly and with no issues. For instance, when I just started prepared for TOEFL test, I made many mistakes while writing essays and had troubles to finish an essay in thirty minutes. However, I did not stress myself but studied slowly and learned every aspect of advanced writing in detail. As a result, after five months of practicing, I was able to reduce immensely the number of my misspellings and was capable of fulfilling an essay in the required time span. This example illustrates my point of view.

In a conclusion, I strongly believe that it is beneficial to work slowly and prevent errors. This is because it can save someone`s life, and will help to excel.