Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A college education is an arduous and sometimes overwhelming process and it is important when students have an opportunity to relieve the tension they are continuously under. Personally, I think that in university funding sports and social activities as crucial as supporting classes and libraries. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, through sports activities, pupils can get emotional relieve, maintain their mental health and therefore, perform better in their studies. During physical exercises, young people move, increase blood flow and in this way receive a large amount of oxygen that is necessary for successful learning. My personal example is a compelling example of this. When I was in pharmacy school, my institution did not have a well-equipped gym, and so I had to drive far away from the campus in a local gym. It was time-consuming and expensive and because of this, I could do it only once a week. I believe that if my school had enough sports equipment, I could physically exercise more than I did and keep up with all my academic projects better. That is why in my opinion universities should sponsor sports.

Secondly, participation in social activities can help students to gain essential communication skills that will benefit them in their future careers. These days, most of the businesses are based on teamwork and success at a workplace mostly depends on how well employees can get along with their teammates. For instance, when I am a pharmacist and in a retail pharmacy, all crew members have to constantly interact with each other in order to provide a great customer service. Luckily when I was a college student my classmates and I took part in a variety of social projects such as volunteering at a local hospital. Through these activities, we learned how to help people and work together. As a result, when I started working in a pharmacy I have always been able to establish positive relationships with my colleagues and my employers have always praised me for this.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that colleges should equally finance sports, social activities, libraries, and classes. This is because it can help students to maintain their health and obtain crucial skills.