Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have been arguing a lot whether or not pedagogues should present to students their social and political beliefs. Personally, I think that knowing teachers` points of view can help young people shape their lives. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, children can listen to different points of view on political and social aspects of life and decide which ones are more suitable for them. Students have many teachers in school and if each professor expresses his opinion about the political situation in the world, pupils can obtain important knowledge. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a senior, the political situation in my country was not stable. It was the time of great changes and every citizen has to decide which candidate they will vote in a following presidential election. I recall that many of my teachers told about their preferences and provided reasons why they thought a certain way. Sometimes we even argued about which of the candidates was better. It helped me a lot to understand the political life of my country and decide who I wanted to see as a president. That is why I think it is advantageous for teenagers to have this kind of conversations in a classroom.

Secondly, by providing students with information, professors can engage adolescents in the social life of their communities. If teachers think that it is pivotal to help our neighbors, they can encourage children to actively support those who are in need. For instance, my chemistry teacher was volunteering at a local hospital and helped healthcare professionals to look after old people, who did not have families to take care of them. She told us how thankful her patients were and how proud she was making their days a little bit happier. As a result, many of my classmates decided to follow her way and started volunteering at a nursing home. This helped us to believe in ourselves and become better citizens.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students should be aware of political and social preferences of their professors. This is because it can help them to create their personal points of view, and can benefit those who are around them.