Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? universities should require students to take history courses no matter it is their fields of study or not.

The main purpose of students to attend universities is preparing for their dream job by acquiring enough knowledge in their interest field of study. While some people hold the idea that students should be obligated to pass courses related to history no matter it is their field of study or not, personally, it is my firm conviction that there is no point in taking history courses by students who do not study history. In the ensuing lines, I will elaborate on my standpoint through conspicuous reasons.

The first worthwhile mentioning reason is that taking history courses by students who do not study history is just a waste of both time and money not only for students but also for universities. In fact, students will have to pay more tuition fees and universities have to hire more professors to teach history courses, also it takes more time to graduate for students. My university's discipline of history courses as an instance is an apt illustration of this. The university where I was studying made an obligation that all students without attention to their field of study must take at least one course of history. Consequently, they built more classes and hire more professors of history to cover all classes that cost a huge amount of money for the university that was suffering from budget shorting. Besides, students were paying much money as well, which raised loads of complaints by students regarding history courses that the university after two years gave up that obligation and eliminated that from required courses. As a result, it was just wasting time and money for both students and universities.

The second significant point that should be pinpointed to champion my stance is that when students are forced to take part in courses which are not relevant to their field of study, they not going to pay attention as should be in the classes and they just looking for a passing grade. My personal experience of having history courses as an undergraduate education is a compelling clarification on this. Four years before now, I was studying landscape design that had to pass some courses related to history. Not only I but also all other my classmates did not participate in discussions that made those courses really boring that we wanted to just pass them by minimum grades to be graduated. Therefore, it could be concluded that forcing students to take history courses when it is not their field of study, do not de fruitful and students do not pay attention like other courses of their field of study.

To wrap up what has been discussed, I reckon that students should not be inquired to participate in history classes which is not their field of study. This is because not only would it be an absolute waste of time and money for both students and universities, but also students do not take those courses seriously, even it affects their performance on other courses.