Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people argue that sports and social activities are not that important for the development of children and thus support the argument that they should not get equal financial support. They cite that the education is the key factor in the student's development and they can do just fine without sports and social activity. However, I strongly disagree with this and believe that sports and social activities have crucial role in children's all-round development and should have equal financial support.

First of all, sports in itself is very expensive to manage because of the sporting facility, organizing competitions, meals and other things. For example, one of my friend play athletics for the university team, and he is very dependent on the sports department to provide him with training facilities, proper meal, and transportation to go in various competitions. Apart from this, he train in free time after class so he can not do part time job because that will interfere his training timing. He can manage his expenses because sports department is paying for him, but if university cut down the funds, he can not even have proper nutritious meal to stay fit and healthy and then there are other expensive such as training and transportation. Because sports can be a career for many students, and if they did not receive proper funding, many student have to force themselves to work in a field they do not like. So, I think that it is very important to provide equal financial support to the sports.

Secondly, social activities are an integrated part of a society and the best way to provide help and support to the marginalized groups. For instance, during my collage days, I was group head of a not profit organization, and our primary role was to provide free education, meal, and clothing to the poor kids. We used to teach them after our classes, and for the meal and clothing, we were heavily dependent on the volunteer itself. Even after so many request to the administration, they refuse to help us, stating that they do not consider it important and rather we should focus on our studies. Because of lack of money, we had to close our organization and eventually stopped teaching kids. Later we found out that those kids drop out of schools because their family had a hard time earning, and they can not afford additional tuition for their children. Had the university provided us fund, those student would have had better future. Thus, I think that both sports and social activities should have equal financial support.

To conclude, this is a complex issue to decide that whether sports and social activities and equally important. Nevertheless, I still contend that they are an integral part of our lifestyle, and thus they should be provided with equal financial support.