Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinion that in any university or college, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and that they should be given equal financial support. if I had to provide an opinion on the topic I would agree with the author. It is my firm belief that sports and activities are equally important for a number of reasons and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

Sports and social activities play an integral part of character development of any student just as classes and libraries do. In my experience when I was in the second semester of my undergraduate course there was a classmate who was extremely studious and would never miss a single class. However she was never spotted in any college events and sports activities. During the campus placements time she faced major struggle in getting selected by any companies and the campus counsellor suggested her to be more engaged in social activities and events rather than just studying the coursework. The counsellor pointed out it is her lack of team spirit and weak communication skills because of which she got rejected by so many companies. However after few months of engaging in campus activities she finally got selected by a company. Thus had she not been involved with the campus fests and events her character development would not have been proper and she would have missed on some big opportunities in life. Hence it is a duty for all the universities and colleges to give as much priority to sports and social activities as classes and libraries.

Also as a matter of fact not every student enrolling in a college or university is good in studies and coursework classes. There are many such students who are pretty average in academics but are extremely talented in sports. For them it is the duty of the campus authority to give the exposure and provide facilities for the betterment of their talent. I had a personal experience of this in my undergraduate days. One of my classmates used to barely come attend classes and many a times scored poorly in academics. However later he got a chance to join the country's government services which may come as a parity to many. The boy was a champion in cricket and won many medals and trophy for the college team during his undergraduate study. His fluency in playing cricket got him a spot in the National Team later. This would not have been possible if the college did not allow him to pursue his passion for college or provide him proper facilities for betterment of his craft. Hence it is evident that a college or university should give proper importance as well as financial support to sports and social activities.

I completely line with the authors position of encouraging sports and social activities by the college authorities as much as traditional coursework classes and libraries. This would not only help the students to develop character integrity as well as give them the opportunity to showcase and improve in their passion outside study.