Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by email, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In schools or workplaces, people can either meet face-to-face or communicate by email in order to finish their projects. In my perspective, working in person is far more superior to emailing.

First, meeting face-to-face can ensure the clarity and responsiveness of communication between members, increasing the efficiency of the work. During face-to-face meetings, people can perceive ideas and questions quickly as well as give instantaneous responses, helping them to elaborate on many details of the project at ease. My personal example would be perfect. At school, I used to work on a project with some partners through email during the first days. However, we had a rough time communicating with one another due to the delays between sending and receiving replies. Consequently, we did not get anything done properly. Therefore, in order to bolster the productivity of our work, we decided to gather all together for better communication between members. This change was beneficial for the group since converging in one place allowed us to discuss ideas continuously without any time being wasted on writing responses. As a result, we ended up finishing the project on the day when we began talking directly.

Second, interpersonal communication can help create various creative ideas during discussion. When working in person, people always have paper and pens available to work with. They can use these items to sketch a mindmap, helping stimulate their creativity to think of many ideas which can be useful for the projects. For example, my Physics teacher used to assign me and a few others to solve a sophisticated problem. When we first began our project, we faced several setbacks such as forgetting the formulas, having trouble understanding the phenomenon and so on. To deal with this, the team decided to sketch a map that links all the details of the problem to enhance our thinking. Subsequently, we found the ultimate solution to the problem. I believe this benefit can hardly be obtained through emailing since email does not have the tools to sketch. Even when the map was drawn by someone, that person still had to photoshoot it and send it to the rest, which would be burdensome and could impair the thought flow of the team.

In conclusion, communicating in person boosts the productivity of students or colleagues in a project because it helps them to discuss more clearly and stimulate their creativity to think of many ideas that can benefit their project.