Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

In today’s society, there are many prevalent social norms,which young people have to conform to. Yet, now a debate has arisen whether these rules are too strict for young people. In my perspective, these obligations are harsh.

First, some parents want their children to do jobs that they want, notably jobs that often bring money and prestige like doctors or engineers. Certainly, these occupations may not be what young people want to do when they grow up. However, pressured by their parents, they have to stop pursuing their real dreams, which can cause them a dreadful and arduous life. I had a cousin who experienced the same thing. His desire was to be a journalist, but his parents demanded him to be a doctor. However, as he was not initially passionate about being a doctor, he soon could not keep up with his Biology class. As a result, he dropped the class and his parents never saw him again. Now, he is working to cover all his expenses including tuition by himself, which is really rough for someone still in school. Therefore, I believe children should be allowed to choose their own profession and parents should respect their decisions.

Second, at school, some rules may restrain students’ creativity or not allow them to expand their potential. For example, because I wanted to outsmart other classmates, I searched the Internet for some ways that can only be taught in higher classes. When an exam came, I applied the knowledge that I had learned before to doing the test. At first, I thought I was going to get a high score for my unique ways. Unfortunately, my teacher gave me a low score on this test and said I was not allowed to use these methods. I was confused because all math knowledge will be learned sooner or later, so there should not be any trouble when some students are curious about more complicated knowledge and decide to study it earlier than other people. Yet some teachers want those kinds of students to maintain the same pace with the school curriculum, which in turn hinders them.

In conclusion, many rules at the present are too strict since they oblige young people to do things that are not within their interests and to learn knowledge that only attaches to their age without letting them create their own paths.