Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In the modern world, both Internet access and public transportation possess substantial benefits to humans. Thus, it’s always worthwhile to invest money in these categories. However, personally, I still believe that Internet access should be put on a higher priority.

First, advanced Internet access benefits students. Instead of spending time travelling to traditional classes, nowadays students can do it online, which is basically more efficient. Furthermore, the Internet can aid students in searching for studying materials. Since information and details are now uploaded on many foundations, students by clicking a few buttons are able to obtain them easily. For example, I used to go to the library for documents whenever I had assignments and the process of claiming the appropriate material was burdensome as there were so many books that I had to contemplate. However, with the Internet, I could go online and ask people in the forums related to my subject. Not only did those people offer me interesting books, they also shared tips and offered explicit explanations. Ultimately, this aided me a lot with my paper and I think that if governments invested in Internet access, students would be able to improve in their academic career since they can acquire perspectives from various individuals.

Second, Internet access helps create and maintain businesses. Since the Internet provides communications between people, sellers can have their stores based online and market their products to the customers, which creates many opportunities for earnings. In addition, old businesses, specifically ones who had their shops shut down due to the pandemic, can use the Internet to keep contact with their clients so that they will not lose their incomes. Similarly, clients can use devices like phones or laptops to access the Internet to purchase goods. These merits contribute to the survival of the country’s economy when people are forced to stay home. On the other hand, enhancing public transportation during this crisis is futile since everybody is conforming to social distancing, hence fewer people to commute by bus or subways. Therefore, investing in public transportation will not benefit the people and instead drain the budget of the governments, which are supposed to cure people and fight the pandemic.

In conclusion, developing Internet access enables students to obtain more knowledge and help them to achieve better academic performances as well as sustaining the economy of the country, while improvement in public transportation does not bring any significant benefits.