Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Governments have always been investing in both arts and athletics due to their paramount importance. However, some people think that funds should be allocated more in support of arts. In my perspective, athletics should be put on a higher priority.

First, sports help bond citizens in the nation. In times when their athletes triumph, people tend to set aside their personal conflicts in order to enjoy common success, cementing national solidarity. For example, when our national football team won the AFF Cup in 2018, every household across the country was indulged in joy and excitement, and people swarmed into roads and corners riding motorcycles around, flying our national flags, and celebrating our historical accomplishment even though they did not play. The joy and national pride brought people closer. As streets were so crowded, traffic accidents were inevitable. However, instead of a resulting normal fight, strangers in the streets shook hands or even embraced each other to share the happiness. Obviously, this enhances the unity of society. Henceforth, by devoting more money to athletics, sportspeople can achieve more success in international competitions, which in turn amplifies pride as well as patriotism of the people, an effect that no art can ever make.

Second, increasing funding for sports is also a great way to encourage people to exercise, which improves their health and productivity in their workplaces. At present, especially in poor countries, exercising facilities are still not very pervasive, so it is difficult for the general public to engage in sports. Given more funds, countries will be able to buy facilities that can be installed in every neighborhood, which in turn will boost the common people’s sports spirit. Once people exercise regularly, they will surely have more energy for their work, enhancing their productivity. On the other hand, arts do not bring major economic benefits to the country. Arts are abstract and people are required to have a basic knowledge foundation to enjoy it, which may prevent people from enjoying artworks on a massive. Thus, art shows or galleries have a high chance of failing. As a result, investment in arts generally does not yield any fruitful economic results.

In conclusion, I assert that spending money on athletics would be a wise choice. This is because it cements the bond between people in the country as well as boosts their efficiency, whereas arts do not have any promising merits.