Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Tutors have always been thinking about the types of assignments that they give the students. They try to design the tasks and projects in a way that students can learn a lot. Having considered this, many people think that group projects are more conducive to education. Others, on the other hand, stand on the other side of the continuum, believing that students who accomplish a project alone will learn more than those who work in a group. I, personally, concur with the latter group. I substantiate my viewpoint by two conspicuous reasons that I elaborate on which in the following paragraphs.

One exquisite reason that comes to mind is that working in a group, students divide all tasks and duties into different sections and each part will be allocated to one of them. To be more specific, when students take on responsibility for just a given part, they cannot learn about other parts of the assignment efficiently. On the other hand, if students work individually, they have to conduct all parts of the project alone which requires delving themselves into a vast variety of information and data from the books in the libraries to the online resources. A personal example can drive this notion home. While being a student at university, we were supposed to accomplish a group project about food factory designing. In this project, I had to locate the apparatus in the production salon, and I did it very well. However, at the end of the project, although I had a superficial knowledge about all parts of the project, I did not learn how to use light engineering to make a convenient place for workers.

Second, students have different personalities and traits that directly affect their contribution to the project. To put it in another word, some students are laid-back and they do not care about their score; therefore, they are usually assured that other students in the group will complete the project. In this circumstance, they do nothing and as a result, do not learn anything at all. For example, in the project mentioned in the previous paragraphs, there was this student that was too lazy and irresponsible. When other group members found that she had done nothing, being worried about the final score, they do her duties too. If she had to do all sections independently, she would have learned about the project to a great extent.

All in all, having the two mentioned reasons into account, I do believe that group projects are not helpful for students as much as individual projects. In the group projects not only do not students achieve comprehensive knowledge about the projects but also some of them do nothing.