The purpose of television is to educate, not to entertain.

During history, many inventions such as the telephone, television, and the Internet have changed people's lives in different ways. Each of these facilities has some purposes and people depending on their requirements benefit from them. When it comes to television, a controversial question arises as to whether people use television to enhance their knowledge in various areas or they watch TV programs to have fun. I, personally, think that television is an entertainment tool for people because of two conspicuous reasons that I will elaborate on which in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, although there are many tutorial videos such as cooking shows or educational programs such as documentaries on television, people are fond of their television because of interesting series and exciting TV shows. Several statistical assessments on television program viewers have shown that the number of people who watch the television extremely increases when the fun programs begin to show. To be more specific, people access many educational sources such as different classes, magazines, the Internet, and so forth. However, they only can find daily interesting programs on television. For example, I frequently have seen that when an educational program starts to show people change the channel into a more interesting one. The more fun programs a channel has, the more contact it will provide that it prove that television is aimed to make fun time rather than education.

Second, although there are many choices to do in spare time, watching television is the cheapest and more convenient than anything else. People need something to shift their attention from the problems and difficulties of the hectic life, hence, they resort to something like television that exists in each home and is very easy to use. Considering the history of the invention of television can drive this notion home. The main purpose of television is fun because its invention was inspired by the Cinema. Cinema plays a vital role in entertainment. With the advent of television, people could watch kinds of those movies in their home which was very appealing for them. For example, my grandmother told me when they bought a television, nobody in their neighborhood has a television. Therefore, at night, neighbors and relatives gathered in her home to watch the television and have quality time in this way.

In conclusion, taking all information mentioned above, I believe that the purpose of television is to entertain. people not only are more passionate about fun programs, but they also use television to have an affordable and convenient recreation.