Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Universities and schools are always looking for a fairly way to judge student. However, depending on different condition they decide variously. Group working is one of the common activiyies that students are supposed to do during their study. When it comes to grading students in a group a question arises as to whether all students should take the same score, or they shoud be treated according to the rate of contribution in accomplishment of the project. I, personally, think students should be graded according to their eligibilities, for two conspicuous reasons which I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

First, students have various characteristics and it leads to different performances during working on a project. Some students are hard-working. They put a lot of effort and energy to find and analyze wide variety of information because they care about their grades. On the other hand, some students are lazy and they rely on the assiduous students. They are laid back and do not think about due day, score, or the quality of the project. Therefore, in such a circumstance, if students at the end of the project get the same grade, it would be unfair. To put it in other words, lazy and unqualified students abuse the hard-working ones and the university or school pave the way for them. They know that despite their weak performances in the project, they get the same score as their diligent classmates. Hence, I think it is better for instructors to allocate certain duties to different students and judge them separately.

Second, when students are assessed according to their contribution in the project, a sense of competition will blossom in the group, which is conducive in their progress. When students know that mentors exactly know what they have done in the group, they take it seriously, and every one incline to represent his or her ability in order to stay in teacher's mind as the best one. In this way, they will be more creative and use more innovation to distinct themselves from other members of the group. A personal example can drive this notion home. Once, at university, my classmate and I were supposed to do a project and design a food factory according to the standard principals. Our professor determined our tasks in the project and said that he will grade us only for our certain part. All of us wanted to get the best score; therefore, did our best. As a result, we made a plan which a businessman wanted to invest in because it was a high quality work. Had my professor not made a sense of competition between us, our results would not have been excellent.

In conclusion, taking the two reasons mentioned above into account, I believe that instructors should judge students in a group work differently. In this way, not only do they grade students fairly, but they also make a sense of competition between group members that positively affect their final results.