Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's sophisticated world, the Internet is one of the most essential facilities which have made doing all tasks easier and faster. These days, people rely on the Internet to do everything as many people cannot imagine the world without the Internet. In this vein, some people think that governments should provide Internet for citizens free like some other services such as building roads. Others, on the other hand, maintaining an opposite view, think that it is not a good idea. I, personally, concur with the former group, for two main reasons that I will elaborate on which in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, using the Internet, people can save money and energy. When individuals start a workday, they have numerous requirements that can be met using the Internet. For example, they have to pay for the bills, go shopping, assign for the classes, to name but a few. When people access to the Internet at no cost, they can easily use the Internet instead of going out and driving for hours, as a result, they do not have to pay a great deal of money to charge the gas tank or pay for the public transportation. In this way, they sit on their comfortable couch and do all tasks from home. Moreover, if the Internet is offered for free, companies will be encouraged to work from home. In this situation, they do not have to pay a huge amount of money on holding the office and pay for the expensive bills. In addition, the government can save its resources like electricity and fuel in a better way. Therefore, such a situation benefits both people and the government.

Second, the Internet is the most important conducive factor in education. Many students have a tight budget and they cannot afford the price of the Internet. In fact, Internet usage by these students is limited to the hours they are at school or at university. Hence, it is highly probable that they do not have efficient access to the Internet at home and will be deprived of the valuable information resources which exist on the Internet. When the Internet is free for everyone, students are more likely to use the newest information in their tasks and projects and it is beneficial for the educational condition of the country. For example, when students do not access to the free Internet, they resort to the limited books available in the library. However, if they can use the Internet without any limitation, they use the latest data to accomplish their projects.

In conclusion, taking the two mentioned reasons into account, I do believe that the government should offer Internet at no cost as they make the roads. In this way, not only can people and government save money and energy efficiently, but also the educational situation of the country will boost drastically.